Automation Overview

To create a sequence of emails or “Workflows” as we call it in MailerLite, click “Create a new workflow”. Add a memorable name. Select a group of subscribers. You can select or exclude different groups from this workflow by using the links above the group selection. Afterwards, select a trigger for this workflow. You can choose a trigger when a subscriber joins a group, joins or exits a segment, or matches a date. When you are done editing, click save and start building your workflow.

Clicking the plus icon will allow you to add four different types of steps. The first step allows you to create an email, add a subject and enter sender details. You can also use Google UTM support tags if your site supports that, as well as choose a language.

When designing the email, you can use our drag and drop editor, custom HTML editor, or Rich Text Editor. You can also select a recent email from sent, draft or even other automations. We’re going to go with a template this time. This is the email your subscribers will immediately get after joining the group. But what if we want the person to get the email 2 days later? This is where delays come in. This is second out of 4 steps. Click on delay, add a number of 2 days, and click save.

The third step you can create is a condition. It will split the subscribers based on the settings you will choose. The settings can be based on: workflow activity, custom fields, segment membership and campaign activity. We will choose workflow activity. It will split the subscribers into groups if they opened the email or not. We need to add another delay for 2 days. This will give our subscribers some time to open the email. If they didn’t do it, let’s send another email. Click on the plus icon below the red thumbs down button and select your new email. If they do open the email, lets add an action. In the actions condition you can: copy to a new group, move to a new group or mark as unsubscribed. We’ll choose copy to a new group called “Engaged”.

If all of the steps are completed, we now can turn on the workflow. While the workflow is on, you can click on any step to edit it or view the report of a specific email. But to add or delete steps, you have to turn the workflow off. When deleting a condition for example, you can delete both branches, delete only yes branch or only no branch.

To view all of your workflows you can click on “Back to Automation.” From this view you can organize your workflows into folders, filter and sort them, hover over them to see the email in the workflow, view the report, edit the report or delete it all together.